News Flash

Posted on: January 10, 2020

Nietzsche and the Burbs

Featured Reads

When a new student transfers in from a posh private school, he falls in with a group of like-minded suburban stoners, artists, and outcasts—too smart and creative for their own good. His classmates nickname their new friend Nietzsche (for his br...

Read on...

Featured Reads
Posted on: January 10, 2020

The Second Sleep

Featured Reads

A young priest, Christopher Fairfax, arrives in a remote Exmoor village to conduct the funeral of his predecessor. The land around is strewn with ancient artifacts--coins, fragments of glass, human bones--which the old parson used to collect. Did his obse...

Read on...

Featured Reads
Posted on: January 10, 2020

On Swift Horses

Featured Reads

Muriel is newly married and restless, transplanted from her rural Kansas hometown to life in a dusty bungalow in San Diego. The air is rich with the tang of salt and citrus, but the limits of her new life seem to be closing in: She misses her freethinking...

Read on...

Featured Reads
Posted on: November 30, 2019

In West Mills

Illustrated cover of the novel In West Mills

For readers of The Twelve Tribes of Hattie and The Turner House , an intimately told story about a woman living by her own rules and the rural community that struggles to understand her. Azalea "Knot" Centre is determined to live life as she ple...

Read on...

Featured Reads
Posted on: November 30, 2019

Gods of Jade and Shadow

Illustrated cover image of magical realism novel Gods of Jade and Shadow

The Jazz Age is in full swing, but Casiopea Tun is too busy cleaning the floors of her wealthy grandfather’s house to listen to any fast tunes. Nevertheless, she dreams of a life far from her dusty small town in southern Mexico. A life she can c...

Read on...

Featured Reads
Posted on: November 30, 2019

The Testaments

Illustrated cover image of the dystopian novel The Testaments

In this brilliant sequel to The Handmaid's Tale, acclaimed author Margaret Atwood answers the questions that have tantalized readers for decades. When the van door slammed on Offred's future at the end of The Handmaid's Tale, readers had no way of telling...

Read on...

Featured Reads
Posted on: November 30, 2019

Heaven, My Home

Cover image of the mystery novel Heaven, My Home

9-year-old Levi King knew he should have left for home sooner; now he's alone in the darkness of vast Caddo Lake, in a boat whose motor just died. A sudden noise distracts him - and all goes dark. Darren Mathews is trying to emerge from another kind of da...

Read on...

Featured Reads
Posted on: November 30, 2019

No Judgments

Illustrated cover of the romantic novel No Judgments

In New York Times-bestselling author Meg Cabot's latest novel, a young woman has to deal with the aftermath of a fierce hurricane -- and an equally stormy romance"-- Provided by publisher. The storm of the century is about to hit Little Bridge Island...

Read on...

Featured Reads
Posted on: November 30, 2019

The World Doesn't Require You

Illustrated cover image of the short story collection titled The World Doesn't Require You

One of Esquire's Most Anticipated Books of 2019 Breathtakingly imaginative and unapologetically original, The World Doesn't Require You announces a bold, generational talent. Deftly spinning genres of his feverish literary invention, Rion Amilcar Scott cr...

Read on...

Featured Reads
Posted on: November 30, 2019

Unmarriageable

Cover image of the romantic novel Unmarriageable

In this retelling of Pride and Prejudice set in modern-day Pakistan, Alys Binat has sworn never to marry--until an encounter with one Mr. Darsee at a wedding makes her reconsider. A scandal and vicious rumor in the Binat family have destroyed their fortun...

Read on...

Featured Reads
Posted on: November 30, 2019

My Sister, the Serial Killer

Cover image of the thriller novel My Sister the Serial Killer

Korede’s sister Ayoola is many things: the favorite child, the beautiful one, possibly sociopathic. And now Ayoola’s third boyfriend in a row is dead, stabbed through the heart with Ayoola’s knife. Korede’s practicality is the sisters’ saving grace. She k...

Read on...

Featured Reads

News Flash

Posted on: January 2, 2020

NNPL now offering scholarships to earn an accredited high school diploma, 100% online

COHS-300x265 Web

The New Year is a great time for people to focus on advancing their education and career opportunities. Newport News Public Library, NNPL, is excited to launch Career Online High School beginning Monday, January 13, 2020. The program is designed ...

Read on...

Latest News
Posted on: December 13, 2019

NNPL and NNPS unite to provide students with their own own library cards

Image of new Student Connect Library Card

Newport News Public Library and Newport News Public Schools are excited to partner in a pilot program designed to provide more opportunities to students through a new library card, Student Connect Card, created just for them.

The program kicked off in Nove...

Read on...

Latest News
Posted on: December 11, 2019

Patrons may stream movies, concerts, and Great Courses lectures

RBdigital Streaming Video

Newport News Public Library (NNPL) is thrilled to announce the launch of streaming video services through our RBdigital platform starting on Monday, December 16! RBdigital delivers all your favorite types of content that’s easy to stream on-dema...

Read on...

Latest News
Posted on: November 5, 2019

A Major Publishing Company Modifies Licensing Terms for Libraries on New eBook Titles

eBooks Web 300x 265 (1)

Starting this November, a major publisher implemented a new licensing restriction on public libraries across the country that could hinder libraries from carrying out their mission to deliver eBooks in a timely manner.

On November 1, Macmillan Publishing c...

Read on...

Latest News
Posted on: November 4, 2019

NNPL Pop-up Pumpkin Patch Gives Kids Engaging Learning Experience

NNPL Pop-up Pumpkin Patch

Squishy, mushy, stringy goo. Those were the sensations little fingers discovered recently when they explored the insides of pumpkins. 

Kids squealed with delight after sticking their hands inside the gourds to feel their gloppy guts and slippery s...

Read on...

Latest News
Posted on: June 26, 2019

We've Got A New Look!

NNPL'S Website has a fresh face

After months of planning and teamwork, we are delighted to bring you the launch of our redesigned website. We wanted our new site to be a friendly, easy-to-use tool and an expression of our commitment to bringing resources, entertainment and opportunities...

Read on...

Latest News
Posted on: July 19, 2019

Help Beautify Our Communities

NNPL's Let's Can It Litter Clean Up Kits

Looking for a way to pitch in? NNPL can help with that!

The Library's "Let's Can It" campaign provides litter clean-up kits for checkout to patrons. Organize your own "litter walk" with one of these kits that include a bucket, safety ve...

Read on...

Latest News
Posted on: July 2, 2019

Stop By and Play Our Board Games

Board Games are available for use in the library at each branch

Each branch of NNPL now has a selection of board games for you to play when you visit the library. Stop by and bring a friend!

We have new and classic titles to help you enjoy some of the benefits for all ages of board games:

Have fun and feel good

Family ti...

Read on...

Latest News
Posted on: June 26, 2019

Check Out Our Book Clubs

book clubs for adults

NNPL is proud of our wide variety of book clubs for adults. There are clubs hosted at each of the library's branches, and some off-site as well. Check our events calendar for upcoming meetings of:

Books and Beers

Join the Books and Beers club at Traditions ...

Read on...

Latest News
Posted on: June 26, 2019

More Fun Now Available

1Website News Article Images (1)

We've got games! NNPL has added video games for the Playstation 4 and XboxOne to our collection.

Games are available on a first-come, first-served basis and check out for 14 days. We have titles for adults, teens, and all ages. Click the image to see title...

Read on...

Latest News